Architecture and Creative Design

This category celebrates innovative architectural and design practice, including exceptional and creative design of homes, offices, buildings, furniture, and the wide range of objects that add beauty and interest to our living and working spaces.

Kate Otten

Kate Otten studied architecture at the University of the Witwatersrand. After working for a number of other practices, Otten established her own firm in 1989 in Johannesburg. She has designed community libraries, the waterfront development at Tzaneen, an art therapy centre in Soweto and the museum exhibition space at the former Women’s Jail at Constitution Hill which received a commendation from the South African Institute of Architects.

Ora Joubert

Ora Joubert’s  PhD thesis was a contemporary assessment of the genesis of the modern aesthetic – the impact of modern art on modern architecture. She worked as in-house architect for the Get Ahead Foundation, a township-based, non-governmental organization, where she initiated art and architectural programmes for township children. She has lectured, both part and full-time, at the Universities of the Witwatersrand, KwaZulu-Natal and Pretoria, as well as at the School of the Art Institute, Chicago, and the Washington University, St. Lewis, in the USA. She has acted as external examiner at all the South African universities that offer tuition in architecture.

Clara da Cruz Almeida

Clara da Cruz Almeida is the designer of Soweto Theatre (2012); other award winning buildings at Lebone II College (2011 SAIA Awards, "A boarding house that feels like home" and "the hall and refectory"); as well as designer of the Houses of Parliament in Cape Town (1987) where African geometric designs are clearly evident  in the interior finishes of the building.